You Couldn't Make It Up!

by Jack Little

Linesman scored own goal! "Athletic News" reported "an unpleasant incident" in a friendly against Morton at Cappielow on 10/9/1887. A Thistle free-kick sailed into the box and hit the "umpire" from Morton FC in the chest and rebounded into the net. He had been standing near the post and actually on the field of play. Thistle claimed a goal (it would have put them 3-2 ahead) but Morton protested it should not stand and the referee agreed. It was a decision "which nearly brought the game to an untimely conclusion. Play was at a standstill for a few minutes, but in the end play was resumed". (Morton won 3-2.)

Delve straight in to any given year via the links below:

1875 1882 1883 1884 1885 1886 1887 1888 1889 1890 1891 1892 1893 1894 1895 1896 1897 1898 1899 1900 1901 1903 1904 1905 1906 1907 1908 1909 1910 1911 1913 1914 1915 1916 1917 1918 1919 1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939 1940 1941 1943 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949 1950 1951 1952 1953 1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966 1967 1969 1970 1971 1975 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1995 1997 2004 2005 2006 2007

Publishing date An original Thistle Archive publication, 07-Sep-2020.
Latest edit date Latest edit version 02-Jun-2020.





Share the page and spread the Jaggyness!

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2020. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.