In James Crozier; William Lawson; Willie Paul
Out McGuire; William McDonald [i]; McKnight
Harry Gray (2-1, 2nd half); William Edgar (2nd half); John Paterson (2nd half) Scorer(s) Willie Paul (1-0, 40 mins); John Campbell (2-0, pen 47 mins); Willie Paul (3-1, 2nd half)
Sending Off(s)
John Palmer Goalkeeper James Crozier james-crozier.jpg probably born in Scotland
Richard Dailly no. 2 Robert Currie robert-currie.jpg probably born in Scotland
James Collins no. 3 George Stewart mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
Robert Steel no. 4 James Bryce james-bryce.jpg probably born in Scotland
John Ostler no. 5 David Proudfoot david-proudfoot.jpg probably born in Scotland
Robert Brown no. 6 James Lamont mh-ptfc-player.png born in Scotland
Harry Gray no. 7 William Lawson mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
Edward Goldie no. 8 John Proudfoot john-proudfoot.jpg born in Scotland 21y, 10m, 15d
John Paterson no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg born in Scotland 29y, 11m, 4d
William Edgar no. 10 John Campbell john-campbell.jpg born in Scotland 18y, 3m, 9d
Cairns no. 11 McIlheny mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
Age 23y, 4m, 10d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per MT, OH concurs.
dubious goals panel
  • MT gives first Thistle goal to John Proudfoot and names no other scorers. OH/JL say Paul (2) and Campbell and we stick with them. JL credits Ferguson with one of Motherwell's goals (presumably Robert) but he isn't listed in the MT line-up. Further, Ferguson didn't sign until October, 1896, according to John's player disc, so it's a bit of a mystery. We have presumed that it's a human-error, a misreading of the similar Paterson as Ferguson, especially since both players were centre-forwards.
attendance notes
  • 3000 (OH); 1000 (JL); 1500 (MT)

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →





Share the page and spread the Jaggyness!

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2020. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.