yany2.jpg Your Archive Needs YOU! We're hoping to sign-up a gang of volunteers to help push our Thistle history site forwards to the next level. More details here→


In Spence; Cook; Duncan MacLean
Out Taylor [i]; Bob Campbell; Willie Paul
Wilfrid Toman (0-1, 1st half); Wilfrid Toman (0-2, 1st half); ? (1-3, 2nd half); ? (1-4, 2nd half) Scorer(s) John Davidson (1-2, og 2nd half)
Sending Off(s)
Tom Smyth Goalkeeper Pat Smith pat-smith.jpg probably born in Scotland
John Davidson no. 2 Spence mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
Gall no. 3 Cook mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
Ritchie no. 4 James Bryce james-bryce.jpg probably born in Scotland
Joseph Davidson no. 5 William McDonald [i] william-mcdonald-i.jpg probably born in Scotland
James Thompson no. 6 David Bruce mh-ptfc-player.png born in Scotland
Turner no. 7 Willie Freebairn willie-freebairn.jpg born in Scotland 19y, 11m, 20d
Taylor no. 8 Duncan MacLean duncan-maclean.jpg born in Scotland 20y, 10m, 29d
Wilfrid Toman no. 9 John Proudfoot john-proudfoot.jpg born in Scotland 20y, 10m, 2d
Gray no. 10 John Wilkie john-wilkie.jpg born in Scotland
Charles Mackie no. 11 John Campbell john-campbell.jpg born in Scotland 17y, 2m, 27d
Age 19y, 8m, 26d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per APJ.
  • The paper lists 13 Thistle players in the line up, offering a bit of a dilemma. We concluded that "Ferguson" at No.4 and "Reid" at no.5 were errant typesetting. Both players were in the paper's preview as full backs (which had no mention of Spence or Cook), and there's a fair chance this has led to some sort of later misreading by the typist. The actual match report has no mention of Ferguson or Reid and several mentions of Spence and Cook (perhaps local lads trying out?) and both of these latter mentioned players also featured in the match at Inverness a few days later.

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →

advertisement

tta.png The Thistle Archive supports the excellent RedYellow.orgexternal-link.png fan initiative - all profits donated to PTFC


ry1.jpg
© The Thistle Archive 2015-2021. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.