In J. Smith; Willie Paul; H. Hill
Out Roddy McLeod; David Hislop; Sam Clark
A. D. Farnworth (1-1, 1st half); Dan McVay (3-2, 1st half) Scorer(s) Andrew Johnston (1-0, 10 mins); ? (2-1, 1st half); H. Hill (3-1, 1st half); ? (4-2, 2nd half); ? (5-2, 2nd half)
Sending Off(s)
Veitch Goalkeeper John McCorkindale john-mccorkindale.jpg born in Scotland
Thomas Ketchen no. 2 Archie Freebairn archie-freebairn.jpg born in Scotland
Alex Wood no. 3 Bob Robertson bob-robertson.jpg probably born in Scotland
Dan McVay no. 4 J. Killin mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
A. D. Farnworth no. 5 J. Smith mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
James Thompson no. 6 George Gorham mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
Legget no. 7 Andrew Johnston andrew-johnston.jpg probably born in Scotland
Charles Christie no. 8 John Drummond john-drummond.jpg born in Scotland 20y, 9m, 20d
M. Campbell no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg born in Scotland 23y, 10m, 28d
William Brown no. 10 H. Hill mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
Arthur Whitehead no. 11 William Proudfoot william-proudfoot.jpg probably born in Scotland
Age 22y, 4m, 10d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per APJ.
  • APJ (6th January 1890) lists "Hill" (presumably H. Hill) and "C. Proudfoot" (no such person to our knowledge presumably William Proudfoot as per the rest of the New Year tour) at the expense of "David Hislop" and "Walter McLean" as per the OH. Since "Hill" is quoted as a scorer in the detailed match report we've went with the APJ. The same paper lists the Aberdeen keeper as "Veitch (assumed name)".

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →





Share the page and spread the Jaggyness!

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2020. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.