In James Miller
Out W. Flannelly
John Auld (2-1, 2nd half); ? (2-2, 2nd half) Scorer(s) Willie Paul (1-0, 11 mins); McBride (2-0, 50 mins)
Sending Off(s)
Robert Downie Goalkeeper John McCorkindale john-mccorkindale.jpg born in Scotland
Burns no. 2 William Proudfoot william-proudfoot.jpg probably born in Scotland
James Rae no. 3 Thomas Campbell thomas-campbell.jpg probably born in Scotland
William Love no. 4 Bob Robertson bob-robertson.jpg probably born in Scotland
John Auld no. 5 George Ward george-ward.jpg probably born in Scotland
Alex Davidson no. 6 Bob Marshall mh-ptfc-player.png born in Scotland
James Morrison no. 7 McBride mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
William Thomson no. 8 James Miller mh-ptfc-player.png probably born in Scotland
John Oswald no. 9 Willie Paul willie-paul.jpg born in Scotland 22y, 7m, 29d
William Johnston no. 10 Andrew Johnston andrew-johnston.jpg probably born in Scotland
James Hannah no. 11 David Hislop david-hislop.jpg probably born in Scotland
Age 22y, 7m, 29d

teamline notes
  • Teamlines per GH, OH concurs.
extra notes
  • Although Thistle were 2-0 up at a point, Thirds came back and equalised with a disputed goal. Thistle protested, stating that the ball had gone over the bar and not under. The referee held firm, and the Partick Thistle players walked off the field causing the crowd to invade the park. Bad feeling following the abandoned game at Cathkin was evident when a 3rd Lanark official said that his team would never play Partick Thistle again. This protest was short-lived, as the Glasgow Cup draw paired Thistle and Thirds at Cathkin again. ~ NK
dubious goals panel
  • Third Lanark's equaliser for 2-2 was disputed by Thistle, but the referee was adamant that the goal should stand, and the ball was centred. An account in the CFF reads: "Partick Thistle scored two goals, the Volunteers scored another, which the referee allowed. Partick Thistle left the field indignant. Result 2-2." Although the OH lists a 2-1 win for Thistle we feel that we cannot go against the referee's decision and deem this to be a 2-2 draw. We further note 2-2 is the headline result in the GEP.
attendance notes
  • 2500 (OH); 2500 (GH)

Info match hubs

question-mark.png If you can help to answer any of these marked questions, then please do get in touch →





Share the page and spread the Jaggyness!

© The Thistle Archive 2015-2020. All rights reserved. Third-party trademarks and content are the property of their respective owners, and subject to their own copyright terms and conditions. See the website links provided in each case.